Calculate the canada sales taxes HST and GST / PST

    + =

What is HST in Canada?

HST stands for harmonized sales tax in Canada. It is a combination of federal and provincial taxes on goods and services in 5 Canadian provinces. Under this tax rate is 15% in all participating provinces except Ontario, where it is 13%.

Canadian Provinces Applying the HST

Out of ten provinces in Canada, 5 use the HST (Harmonized sales tax). In 1997, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfound and Labrador applied for the HST (Harmonized sales tax). Later in the year 2010, Ontario and British Columbia (BC) joined the program but three years later BC exited the program and reinstated its provincial sales tax system after an estimated 55% of the province’s residents voted to end the HST. Prince Edward Island replaced its provincial sales tax (PST) with the Harmonized sales tax in the year 2013.

The tax rate has been decided 15% for all the participating provinces but it is Ontario where HST is only 13%.

Provinces without HST

BC, Saskatchewan, Quebec, and Manitoba apply the provincial system in addition to the separate federal sales tax. Several provinces apply only the federal goods and services sales tax. The provinces of Alberta, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon do not have any provincial sales taxes.

Any changes on HST

Since January 2019, there have been no changes to the HST, PST, and GST of any province or territory on Canada.

Harmonized tax calculation for all the provinces of Canada

Regarding to the book sales, it is said that only GST must be taken into consideration in this type of calculation, PST should be excluded from it.  In some provinces, HST must be used.

HST exemptions or rebates for Ontario

In Ontario there are some items such as groceries, some kind of drugs, child care and others that are excluded from the sales taxes.

The Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) is 13% in Ontario.

Current HST, GST and PST rates table of 2019

On March 23, 2017, the Saskatchewan PST as raised from 5% to 6%. (see the article).

Tax rate for all canadian remain the same as in 2016. In fact, the last increase in HST was for Prince Edward Island (a raise of 1%) on october 1st 2016 (see the article).

Canada’s Province Rate type (HST, GST, PST) Provincial rate Canada rate Total
Alberta GST 0% 5% 5%
British Columbia (BC) GST+PST 7% 5% 12%
Manitoba GST+PST 7% (before july 1st 2019 = 8%) 5% 13%
New-Brunswick HST 10% 5% 15%
Newfoundland and Labrador HST 10% 5% 15%
Northwest Territories GST 0% 5% 5%
Nova Scotia HST 10% 5% 15%
Nunavut GST 0% 5% 5%
Ontario HST 8% 5% 13%
Prince Edward Island (PEI) HST 10% 5% 15%
Québec GST + QST 9.975% 5% 14.975%
Saskatchewan GST + PST 6% 5% 11%
Yukon GST 0% 5% 5%

Signup With Newsletter

Keep up to date!

Quarterly newsletter to keep up with changes in calculations / rates and improvements.